Sweet Impossible Blossoms

You may or may not be aware that April is National Poetry Month.  I have always loved poetry because of the sound of it, and the way that words seem to take flight from the page, and because of the subtle power of the language used.  Recently, my friend Katie posted a list of her favorite lines from poems to her blog.  I enjoyed reading her list and the comments that others posted with a few of their favorite lines, but as I started to post some of my favorite lines, I realized that it would probably be a good idea for me to just create my own list here.  However, after deciding that, I realized that my list was really turning into a hunt for lines that I like, so what I’ve decided to do instead of making a list is do a poetry quote of the day for a while.  Although, in all fairness, it may not be everyday.

There are days we live
as if death were nowhere
in the background; from joy
to joy to joy, from wing to wing,
from blossom to blossom to
impossible blossom, to sweet impossible blossom.

(Li Young Lee “From Blossoms”)

I first read this poem in high school, and loved it instantly.  These lines have stuck with me ever since, and they come to mind especially on beautiful spring and summer evenings when the world feels full of life and promise and possibility, and when laughing with friends and enjoying all that life has to offer.  These lines remind me of the girl I was when I read it first, and the friends I had then, and how it felt to be 17 and bursting at the seams with the joy and excitement of being.  As if death were nowhere in the background.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Impossible Blossoms

  1. Oh my…..I had forgotten this poem. Thank you for reminding me. As soon as I read the title of your post, the poem leapt back into my memory like a miracle. It does remind me of seventeen.

    • Kristi, it always goes hand-in-hand with the chorus to “Sweet Caroline.” Those were some good days, weren’t they!

Leave a Reply

