Too Deep for Tears

To me the meanest flower that blows can give
Thoughts that do often lie too deep for tears.

(William Wordsworth “Ode: Intimations of Immortality from Recollections of Early Childhood”)

More lines that I have loved since high school.  In spite of the often overwhelming sentimentality of Wordsworth’s poems, I confess that I like a great many of them.  This one, I feel, should be nominated for a most excessively wordy poem title award, were there such an award available.  One thing that I like about the Romantic poets is their deep appreciation for nature and the beauty of creation.  I share that appreciation and have often felt that our most glorious edifices cannot begin to compare to the beauty of God’s “meanest” creations.  And on that note, I bit you a Happy Earth Day!  Go and celebrate this beautiful world God has made and makes new every day.

Leave a Reply

