Hello, Boston!

Even though this morning seemed to last f-o-r-e-v-e-r, it didn’t.  Somehow, being closer to our destination made it harder to sit through our day’s driving.  Eventually, though, the long miles gave way and we made it to our destination.

And that’s when the trouble started.

I’ll spare you the melodrama of details, but I’ll give you an equation to give you an idea:  5:00 traffic + plus moving truck = don’t ask.  No wrecks, thank God.  But we dropped the car dolly off to make driving and parking easier.  First, we got all turned around trying to find the place and had no idea where in Boston we were.  Next, we drove off in our now separate vehicles and promptly got separated.  And then we each spent the next twenty minutes or so trying to figure out where we were and how to get to our hotel.  by the time we got here, we were tired, stressed, grumpy, and hungry.  This was not exactly the entrance I had hoped for, but I felt loads better about life after eating.

I got a funny feeling today when it actually started to settle in that I was actually moving to Boston (I know, a little slow on the uptake, right?).  I had the moment where I felt like I had somehow managed to to wander into someone else’s life.  This is not my life, I thought.  This cannot be my life.  My life is much more ordinary than this!  What have I gotten myself into? Then, as the reality continued to settle in, I thought, I’m moving to Boston. And an almost-separate voice in my head said, Whoa!  When did that happen? And then I laughed at myself, a little nervously.

But you know what?  When I actually got here (I mean, after the traffic fiasco), back in the area near where I’ll be living, that all changed.  I began to feel more relaxed, and the anxiety that had built a little this afternoon faded.  I know it’s going to take a long time for this place to feel like home, and I’m expecting a sizable bout of homesickness, but this place does feel right.  And that’s a good feeling.  After all the goodbyes I’ve been saying lately, it’s nice to get to say a happy hello to Boston.

7 thoughts on “Hello, Boston!

  1. Hi Shanna. I know a little of how you feel. But just know that everyone is praying for you. I hope to see you sometime. Love your cuz.

    • I miss you too! Thanks–the redesign is super easy. You just go to the dashboard, scroll down and find Themes under Appearance on the left side of the screen, and then you pick what you want.

Leave a Reply

