Counting My Blessings

It’s been one of those days. You know the kind–where unpleasant things seem to pile up on top of each other until it seems like nothing is good and you want to declare to the world that you’re packing your bags and moving to Australia.

The problem is that I’ve been having those days a little too often lately. Winter has me pinned down. Just when I begin to feel like I can handle the amount of snow piled up everywhere, more comes. Just when the slush starts to dry up, it snows and/or rains and then it’s worse than before. The sun shines for, it seems, a few hours a week only, and it’s a brooding gray the rest of the time. And, somehow, I feel more isolated and alone now than I have since I’ve been here.

All of this is working against me and I’ve been grouchy and glum and feeling awfully sorry for myself. Which I hate. I’ve been trying to find ways to cope with this surreal world and my negative reaction to it, and haven’t come up with much that is gratifying. I’ve thought about buying things for myself, eating myself into a diabetic coma, and just hiding under my covers and pretending like I don’t have to go out. But, of course, none of that would actually make me feel better.

So instead of being self-indulgent, I’m going to try remembering all of the ways that I’ve been blessed. I’m going to make myself spend time dwelling one one or a few of my blessings everyday, and hope that it replaces the time I’ve been spending wallowing in self-pity. And I’m going to share it here on my blog. Everyday. I’m not usually much good at daily (or any regular) blogging, but I also know that there has to be an active component to any kind of discipline for me to actually keep at it, and if I’m sharing with other people I tend to be more committed. I may not write a lot, but I’ll write something. Starting today.

2 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings

  1. SUPERLIKE! I’ve been reading Richard Beck’s blog lately, and he has suggested that gratitude basically is synonymous with happiness (I’m grossly oversimplifying, of course). What a great idea. I can’t wait to see what you write.

    • Yeah, I’ve been reading his blog too! I didn’t think about that post today when I made this decision, but I definitely agreed with him when I read it. I’m glad you brought it up. That affirms my decision. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

