Beautiful in its Time

Last night, I felt so much better after I wrote my post about hymns. I felt peaceful and comforted, and after that I braved the icy sidewalks and went over to my friend Sarah’s house for a delicious burrito.  She and her husband are also from Texas, and I’ve been enjoying getting to know them. I had a great time and I laughed a lot, and it was definitely a blessing to spend time with friends last night.

When I left their apartment, I found that it was snowing again, something which has not been a pleasant sight for me lately. It was just a soft, gentle snow, nothing that would really accumulate. And I was unexpectedly struck by how truly beautiful it was, and peaceful, and almost magical. Even on Commonwealth Ave–one of the major streets in Boston–as I waited on the T, there was quietness and stillness all around me. And for the first time in weeks, I was glad to be outside. I enjoyed every minute of my walk home, and felt like there was something beautiful even in the giant mounds of snow everywhere. I admired the tiny icicles hanging from a high wall. I smiled as I crunched over snow.

And this morning when I woke up, it was snowing yet again. Big, lovely flakes that drifted lazily down, swirling gently on the way. And I was yet again surprised to see it and only think of how beautiful it was.

I feel like I went through the day with new eyes, aware of the ways that this frigid weather is beautiful instead of the ways that it is inconvenient and uncomfortable. And that is a blessing indeed.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

One thought on “Beautiful in its Time

Leave a Reply

