These Boots were Made for Walking

With all this cold, wet weather, I’ve been pretty limited as to which shoes I can wear. Heels? Forget about it. Not in ice and slush. Ballet flats? No way! There’s nothing between your foot and the elements! I’ve seen women wearing both of these things, but I guess I’m just not as committed to fashion as they are. My footwear concerns are concentrated equally on two things: safety and warmth. I concluded after I moved here that I didn’t have much use for a pair of shoes unless I could walk a mile in them. Now that it’s winter, I don’t have much use for shoes unless I can walk a mile in the snow and slush in them without ever feeling the cold or wet.

So, because of that, I’ve been pretty grateful for the shoes that are keeping my feet warm and dry.

My Bear Paw boots (the ones that look like Uggs, on the left) are super warm and comfy. They feel like house shoes.

My Ariats (on the right) are waterproof and some of the most comfortable shoes I’ve ever worn. These are, in fact, my second pair. These are walk-around-all-day-without-aching-feet shoes. These are whatever-weather-conditions-happen shoes. They’re good for walking and are also designed for horseback riding, and they are by far the most versatile shoes I’ve ever owned. They always seem warm enough, but they never seem to hot in the summer.

The boots in the middle are new. I decided to buy them after the abject misery of last week’s snow storm which was then followed by a rain storm; my Ariats kept my feet dry, but there were some awfully close calls in some ankle deep puddles. Then, when I was working on digging out my car, I got snow in my boots, and it was not particularly pleasant. So I got these boots that are warm, waterproof, and tall. And cute to boot.

Something I’ve learned about surviving winter up here is that having the right apparel matters. Sweaters, scarves, warm coats, good shoes–these are the things you need to survive the cold. So today I’m thankful for my collection of warm boots.

Leave a Reply

