Warm things

You may have noticed a bit of a trend here–a number of the things I’m grateful for are things that keep me warm. Tonight I’m feeling especially glad for two things: my down coat and my electric blanket.

My down coat is the one I bought a few weeks ago before our first serious cold snap. I wrote about it and posted pictures, so you already have been introduced to my feelings about it. Those feelings have only increased. Tonight I had to wait in the cold (17*, windchill 8*) for around 10 minutes. It was chilly! But I was pretty comfortable in my coat, and the longer I sat, the more comfortable I became because the coat kept my body heat where it belonged–close to my body. I snapped the hood, and it even kept my face pretty warm. That coat was a good investment!

Now I’m home and my legs are still a little chilly, and I’m snuggled up in my bed under my electric blanket. I try to turn it on a couple of hours before I expect to go to bed so that my bed is nice and toasty. There’s nothing better than a warm bed on a cold night. I think I’d cry myself to sleep some nights if I didn’t have one. (Maybe just a little. I have a small talent for self-pity.) All drama aside, though, I am super glad to be climbing into a warm bed tonight!

So, it’s been just over a week now that I’ve been counting up the things I’m grateful for, and I have to tell you that it’s made a huge difference. I don’t feel miserable and I don’t feel sorry for myself. I’m still a little mopey sometimes, especially in the mornings. But I feel better about life, and I even feel better about winter. So the plan is to keep on!

Leave a Reply

