Babies

On Monday, I wrote about being okay with being single. That’s doubly true about not having children. There’s definitely no baby fever over here. Puppy fever, sometimes. Horse fever, often. But I’m totally okay with being babiless just now.

But I do love babies and young children. I love to watch them grow and experience the world. I think there’s something wonderfully magical and holy about them. Though I may at times forget that adults are made in the image of God, I never forget that children are, and that helps me to remember about grown ups too.

And I also love witnessing the ways that parents are blessed by their babies. I enjoy the way they marvel at the everyday miracle unfolding before their beaming eyes, and the way they rejoice in little milestones. I love seeing the ways that parents celebrate their child’s uniqueness and encourage their talents and passions. My parents were especially good at those things.

And most of all, I love being allowed to have a share in that joy through pictures and events, through getting to be there for special events. I love getting to be “Aunt” Shanna. There isn’t much better feeling than hearing a child speak your name in affection, or seeing a child running over to you for a hug. Even when it’s only memory.

So today I’m grateful for special kiddos and their parents. And I’m thinking especially of Benjamin, who has decided to turn two even though I’m not there to witness it. I guess it was blessing enough to be there for the previous two birthdays, but I sure wish I was there today too.

2 thoughts on “Babies

  1. I’m going to go ahead and admit to my eyes welling up a bit while reading this. ๐Ÿ™‚ You have always been a good “sister” on top of being a wonderful friend. I love that you are “Aunt Shanna” to my kids too. All your nieces and nephews are lucky to have you. Someday, Benjamin, Kyleigh, Maezie and Fynnli will be sharing stories about their Aunt Shanna. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And on a not-so-serious note, being an Aunt has its perks. You get to play with kids, spoil them, love them, and don’t have to deal with the yuckier parts : throwing up, potty training, temper tantrums, and poopy diapers! ๐Ÿ™‚ LOVE YOU!!!!

  2. I love you. Benjamin loves you too. Connie took lots of pictures at his birthday party so maybe you’ll get to feel like you were there. You were very missed.

Leave a Reply

