Poppyseed Chicken, etc.

I have a confession to make. I don’t feel particularly grateful right now. I don’t want to write this post and say that I’m grateful for something because it will interrupt me feeling pathetic and childish and sorry for myself.

Um, isn’t that the whole point of doing this daily blog thing? Right.

So I’m even though my inner child is throwing a dramatic temper tantrum because I’m tired and because I already feel like there’s no room to breathe this semester (and it’s way to early for that feeling) and because it’s two long weeks until Spring Break (when my mom will be here!) and only two weeks until Spring Break (oh my, how much I have to do between now and then!) and . . . and . . . and . . . Oh bother. I could go on for a long time about all the things that I’m not grateful for tonight.

But this is a discipline. This is about taking control of my thoughts and remembering the reasons why my life and my current circumstances are very good. And so even though I feel kind of mulish, here it is.

I made myself a poppyseed chicken casserole today. I ate some for supper, and I’ll eat it for lunch the next couple of days (instead of sandwiches). It’s easy to make and doesn’t take much time, and I had almost all of the ingredients on hand (the rest were available at CVS). And it’ll be a bright spot in my otherwise difficult Wednesday. It’s a favorite for sure, and so it’s kind of comfort food for me. It’s not so good as, say, having a whole day with zero responsibilities (except Spur) or obligations, but it’ll do as a distant second.

And since I’m feeling mulish, I’m not stopping at one tonight. I’m also grateful that I hit some useful sales at CVS today and saved a bunch of money on stuff I needed, like paper towels. And, they had Campbell’s Chunky Soup Chicken and Corn Chowder, which I love and which they don’t often have, and it was on sale.

And I have some clean clothes and clean towels, so that’s definitely something to be grateful for.

And I loved my Irish Literary Revival class tonight, as always.

And a ton of people offered to help me out on a class assignment that I griped about on Facebook. I’m absolutely blessed by my friends, and I love that FB makes it so easy to keep in touch with so many of them.

And Spur forgives me for not having time to play with her as much as she wanted to this afternoon. I think.

I’m still feeling a little pathetic and mulish, but a lot more grateful. I hope your Tuesday has offered you as many opportunities for gratitude, and that you’ve recognized them more gracefully than I have!

2 thoughts on “Poppyseed Chicken, etc.

  1. We had a lesson this week in church about “spiritual work,” and people talked for a long time about what it was and why it mattered. Way to get some good spiritual work done, Shanna! You are my hero, as always.

  2. It’s tough to feel grateful sometimes, for sure. Good for you for pushing through even when you felt mulish. (And your poppyseed chicken is delicious. Definitely an item to be grateful for.)

Leave a Reply

