Comfortable

Today I had to give a 20 minute teaching presentation in my teaching class. I had to teach my peers a lesson I would teach to freshmen. And I thought I’d be nervous because teaching your peers and being evaluated on it is a lot more difficult than teaching freshmen. But I wasn’t. I felt pretty good that I was able to just feel confident and relaxed. The best part, though, and the thing that surprised me was that it only took a couple of minutes to begin to feel comfortable, to hit my stride, more or less. I taught a good lesson, and I got some great feedback from my classmates and my professor. But I think my favorite part of the day was that moment when I realized just how comfortable it was for me to assume that role of teacher, how natural it was. How’s that for life affirmation?

One thought on “Comfortable

Leave a Reply

