Best Haircut of my LIFE.

So it’s already a great week with my mom. Yesterday we visited BC and I showed mom around the awesome Bapst and Burns libraries and other places where I go on campus. We even took the shuttle, so she got a fair idea of what life is like around here. We had lunch at Chipotle’s, where we discovered pretty good guacamole and burritos. We were fairly certain that we would never eat again. Then we took the T to Bed Bath and Beyond, which is way more conveniently located than I had imagined, and we had a fun time looking around and buying a few things there. We watched Robin Hood (the new one, courtesy of Netflix) and liked it, and we ordered my favorite pizza from Pino’s (one of the two pizza joints I share an alley with) and ate it all up. Then we fell into a food coma and didn’t move for several hours, until it was bedtime. It was a fantastic day.

Today, I had a hair appointment at 1:00. We had a pretty lazy morning, although Mom went with me to get stuff at CVS and helped me carry the stuff back, so she got to experience that part of my life too.

So about my hair appointment. Awhile back I had decided to buy a deal on Buy With Me (it’s like Groupon or Living Social–a deal a day website) for a swanky Newbury Street salon. I decided I would treat myself. Just this once, I thought. I’ve never paid more than $20 to have my hair done, and I could afford to treat myself, I thought. And today was the big day. So I went in and we waited for a little while, and I think everyone who works there asked us if we wanted a tea or coffee or water while we waited. They were all so nice. When I went back, Roberto (my stylist) noticed right of the bat that I have a lot of hair, but he didn’t act like it was unbelievably thick, and he asked me what I wanted. I had a plan for this moment; I said, “Actually, I’m hoping you can give me a little advice. I never know what to do with my hair because it’s so thick and because I’m pretty low maintenance when it comes to my hair.” I told him what I normally have done–layers, thinned, bangs–and he asked me a few more questions, and then he did exactly what I wanted. He told me what he thought I should do, more or less, and then he just did what he wanted to.

And when it was all said and done, I walked out with the absolute best haircut of my life.

And I don’t just mean that my hair looks great (although it totally does). The whole experience was fantastic. Here’s why: normally, when I’ve gotten my hair done in the past, the hairdresser kind of looks at my hair and declares defeat (at least, that’s how it feels to me). It’s just so thick. What do you do with hair that thick? Roberto was not intimidated by my hair. He knew just what to do with hair this thick, and he did it. And it felt like he was crafting something, not just cutting my hair. And another thing: I’ve never had my hair cut by a man before, and I’m sure that for most people id doesn’t make a difference. But for people with hair as thick as mine, it does. Roberto is the first stylist who was strong enough that it wasn’t difficult for him to handle my hair when it was wet. He just had a lot easier time dealing with my hair than anyone else has.

For the first time I can remember, I didn’t feel a completely irrational twinge of guilt for having absurdly thick hair. I just felt good about my hair, and I felt GREAT about my haircut–the first hair cut that felt like victory rather than stifled defeat. I love it. I love everything about it.

And the day was just as good after that. Mom and I went to the North End (Boston’s Little Italy) and toured Paul Revere’s house (thanks for the tip, Katie!), then we went to the Old State House for a tour, and then back to the North End for supper at Fiore’s. We ate until we couldn’t eat anymore and were well satisfied with the meal. Before we headed home, we stopped in at Mike’s Pastry for some canoli, and then we got on the T at Haymarket at about 6:00. “Don’t expect a seat,” I told mom. I expected to pack in like cattle along with the folks heading home from work. Instead, the train was almost empty and we got seats. At each successive stop, more and more people crammed on to the train until it was uncomfortably full, but we were able to sit down the whole time.

We got home to a very, very excited puppy dog, and we’re about to watch My Fair Lady. This is a fantastic day!

2 thoughts on “Best Haircut of my LIFE.

Leave a Reply

