Confessions

  1. I equally love and hate the Maroon 5 song “Moves like Jagger.” Whenever I hear it, a tense argument rages in my head, which ultimately leads me to questions of identity and self, those things having been muddled by my ambivalence toward the song. I bounce back pretty quickly, though, after the song ends.
  2. I can’t tell if my love for Dr Pepper is psychological or because I like the taste.
  3. I hate reality t.v. shows unabashedly, except for the singing competitions. It’s kind of a guilty pleasure, which I justify by telling myself that it’s about music and there’s a whole lot less drama.
  4. On a related note, I’m watching The Voice this year. I like it plenty well for what it is, but a big part of the appeal for me is Blake Shelton’s drawl. He sounds like home when he talks. In fact, he sounds almost exactly like one of our former horseshoers, accent, rhythm and all. It’s funny the things you miss when you’re away from home, and Blake Shelton’s drawl feels familiar and solid. Also, he’s a funny guy.
  5. My guiltiest pleasure is (are you ready for this?) verbing nouns. That’s right, folks; I have a bachelor’s and (almost) 2 master’s degrees in English, I teach college English, and I verb nouns on a regular basis. I know it my grammatical heart that it’s so, so wrong. But I can’t help myself. It’s fun and (often) funny. If this offends you, I’ll understand.
  6. I’m really bad at staying focused while I’m grading (which is what I’m supposed to be doing now). But that probably doesn’t surprise you. I’m also really good at social media and blogging while I’m grading.
  7. I made a B+ on a midterm paper this week and didn’t loose my mind. This is a big step forward for me, you’ll know. While I’m reasonably motivated to rally and make a better grade on my final paper, I’m honeybadgering (see? noun=verbed) this grade, and feeling pretty good about my ability—for once—to let a failure to live up to my own standards roll off my back.
  8. During music-competition-show season, I sing like a rockstar in the shower and while I’m doing dishes and other chores. But there’s no chance of taking this show on the road because I’m not sure anyone else would really appreciate my unique combination of run-of-the-mill vocals and domestic chores. The world just isn’t ready for all of this.
  9. My favorite thing that James Joyce does as a stylist is smashing together a compound adjective to make one word, like “sunbright” or “nutbrown.” Sometimes I try to do this myself, but the spellchecker’s red marks tell me, derisively, that I am a mere literary mortal who must obey the rules. Good thing Joyce didn’t have spellchecker.
  10. I sometimes think about the fact that I could die without ever having gone to Disney World, and that makes me a little sad. So now that I’m moving to Georgia, which is conveniently located near Florida, I’m scheming about an adventure. But I’ll need a cohort with which to sally forth—any takers?
4 thoughts on “Confessions

  1. 1. I unabashedly love that song, even though it’s not good, and dance around my apartment with abandon whenever it comes on.
    2. Question: does the love extend to Diet DP?
    5. YESSSS. Also, need to find an appropriate situation in which to verb “Dr. Pepper”.
    10. I’m not a Disney enthusiast, but I am seriously in touch with my inner child, so I would sally forth with you. 🙂

    • Sometimes I’m able to can the hate and just rock out to “Moves.” I think that love is eventually going to win the day on that one. My love does not extend to Diet. Also, I don’t know about you, but I Dr. Pepper my lunch almost everyday. And, finally, we’d have fun at Disney!

  2. I understand how you feel about The Voice. At CEA last week, one panelist kept saying “Muh” instead of “my”, and I wanted to go up to her after and tell her how happy it made me.

Leave a Reply

