More Confessions

  1. If it isn’t made of beef, it shouldn’t be called a hamburger. I’m looking at you, veggie “burger,” and I’m calling you a phoney. A phoney! And a disappointment.
  2. I have a big oral exam on Friday that decides if I graduate. I’m not particularly worried about it because a) my committee are  kind people; b) they’re really ready for the semester to be over; and c) I’m bringing baked goods. I believe baked goods release positive energy into the world and will shift the balance in my favor. Please believe that with me.
  3. The topic of my exam is places and spaces in Irish lit. I’ve enjoyed studying the topic immensely. I mean, this topic is my main scholarly groove. But secretly, I kind of wish that we were also going to discuss the use of fictional cities in the DC universe as opposed to the real cities in the Marvel universe. Then it would be appropriate for me to wear my Captain America shirt and it would seem more obvious to use my superhero cookie cutters.
  4. I’m guilty of judging the New Englanders (ahem, local weatherman) who complain about rainy days. We need the rain–it’s been an exceptionally dry winter (only 10 inches of snow and not a lot of rain), and the reservoir near my house is a good 2-3 ft below the normal level. These people, who are completely unaccustomed to dry creek beds, brown grass and water rationing, do not appreciate the life-giving, soul-renewing value of rain. Can I get an amen, Texas?
  5. I just got an email from ETS about GRE test prep, and it gave me no small satisfaction to say to that email, “Ha! I don’t have to take the GRE ever again, sucka!” [Which you should translate directly to mean that I deleted the email vigorously albeit silently].
  6. I don’t know how many dozens of times I’ve read Yeats’ poem “The Lake Isle of  Innisfree”. I don’t know how many times I’ve listened to the grainy recording of Yeats reading it, though I remember dreamily that some of those times were in the National Library in Dublin. And as much as I want to be cool and say that one of his more complex poems is my favorite, I know that it’s this one. The one I never get tired of reading and never read only once at a time. The one that always feels honest and resonant and beautiful. I’m glad it’s on my exam reading list.
  7. Among the other things I’m looking forward to about this semester wrapping up is that I’ll be able to dig into Foucault’s Discipline and Punish. Also, the Avengers vs. X-Men. That’s how I roll.
  8. On a related note, found a section in the library the other day that was scholarship on comic books. I wasn’t even looking for it. I stumbled upon it while I was hunting for a book on liminal spaces. I took it as a form of divine and institutional validation of my geekery.
  9. I believe that no grad student should face finals without a reliable supply of chocolate. You have to plan ahead, or else you’ll end up eating chocolate chips by the handful.
  10. My favorites have now been voted off of American Idol and The Voice. I wish that meant I had lost interest in the shows so that I could continue to deplore reality tv without feeling slightly hypocritical. Alas.
One thought on “More Confessions

  1. I’m with you on the rain and the weathermen. Even though I wish the sun would come back, I find myself saying (in an odd echo of my dad’s voice), “Well, we need the rain.”

    I love The Lake Isle of Innisfree too. And YES, always, to the chocolate.

Leave a Reply

