[In which I consider the past year]

If you’re reading this, let me just say congratulations on dodging the Mayan apocalypse a couple of weeks ago. If you’re still searching for some major accomplishment to mark the year of 2012, there’s one you might not have considered. So far, 2013 promises to be another year without the formation of a post-apocalyptic dystopian society, and if you ask me, that means this year is already off to a pretty great start.

In case you haven’t caught on yet, this is the obligatory New Year’s post. The one where I get a little sentimental over days past and think about the future. Don’t judge me. I know you’re doing it too, in your heart.

2012 was kind of a mixed bag for me. It had some great moments. It had some real stinkers too. But the truth is, even those moments were really not so bad. I read a lot of things, I learned a lot of things, and I made some big changes. I didn’t like all of them, but I’m grateful anyway. So here’s a list of things that I think I’ll remember most about the year.

Favorite Memories

  • A delightful trip to the aquarium in Boston with Kate (I touched a ray!)
  • Coffee nights with Katie and Abigail and the Brookline ladies
  • Brunches at The Paramount Cafe (mmm, banana pancakes) and Zaftigs (oh, banana-stuffed french toast!) with dear friends
  • Conquered Ulysses (which I mostly like in past tense. I’m glad I read it. I’m even more glad I’m not still reading it)
  • Passed my oral exam with distinction and some very kind comments from my committee
  • Celebrated my birthday twice, with my Abilene friends and my BC friends. Thanks for making a girl feel loved, y’all!
  • Got accepted at Emory
  • Enjoyed a second consecutive year of The Great Summer Movie Geek-out (The Hunger Games, The Avengers, The Amazing Spider Man, and The Dark Knight Rises). Silly? Yes, obviously. But summer movies are fun, and I had such a good time seeing these movies with friends
  • Movie nights with Lauren, who is, I assure you, a LOT of trousers. (Yes, that’s a line from a movie. Don’t over think it)
  • Found a house I loved in Atlanta and bought it. Like a I’m a real grown-up or something. Also, my condo sold in three days, for over the asking price. Never mind the headache that closing turned into
  • Visiting Stacie in Maryland and Susan in New Jersey on my trek back to Boston
  • A ridiculous, hilarious, delightful, fun Boston Pops Fourth of July Extravaganza. I got to spend time with most of my closest Boston friends and watch fireworks in the rain
  • Trips to the beach. 3 of them. A perfect, peaceful Memorial Day at Singing Beach with Lauren, Sarah, Kyle, and Leah. A wonderful small group church picnic at the beach in Quincy, and a fabulous day in Rockport with Kate, Will, Sarah, and Matt.
  • An Avengers-themed going away party with wonderful, thoughtful gifts, homemade Mexican food, and the people who were part of my Boston journey from the very beginning. There are just not enough ways to say how thankful I am for the Gibsons and Lollars. Or how much I miss them.
  • An perfect final night in Boston with Kate, Sarah, Lauren, Kerry and my mom. It included my favorite restaurant in the North End, cannoli from Mike’s (obviously), and lots of love and laughter.
  • Friends who helped me carry stuff up from my storage unit in the basement in preparation for my move, and who got up early to help us clean my condo before I left town.
  • A lovely day in Amish country in Pennsylvania. Spur got to go on her first horse-drawn carriage ride!
  • My mom taking three weeks off from real life to help me move, and Dad taking a week off to come fix ALL the things in my new house.
  • Making new friends at Emory, wine and movie nights, a trip to a kitschy Gone With the Wind museum
  • Finding a church close to home, where I feel at home
  • Cooking a pretty awesome Thanksgiving feast for me and Cathryn, who drove all the way from Texas to spend a few days with me
  • Meeting Shasta, Shanara, Jamie and Kristi in Oklahoma City for a mini-college reunion. Oh, how I love those girls!

Not-favorite memories

  • Leaving Boston
  • Moving to a place where I didn’t know anyone
  • Reading and writing all the time. Or procrastinating
  • Feeling homesick for Boston and for Texas pretty much all the time
  • Missing a whole lot of people

You know what? It’s been a pretty good year. The move was hard, really hard sometimes. But this list of favorites ended up being much longer than I initially had in mind, and I’m not even sure I included everything. Happy New Year, y’all. Here’s to 2013–I hope it’s as full as love, laughter and silliness as 2012 was.

Leave a Reply

