Enough

Last year, I decided (kind of late) that my one little word for the year was adventure. Well, I’m new to the one little word thing, but that word didn’t seem to last. At any rate, I didn’t really keep up with it. By the time I was selling and buying houses, trying to pack everything up, and beginning a long process of saying goodbye to my favorite people and places and the life that I loved so much in Boston, it felt less like an adventure and more like a forced exile. So adventure may have felt appropriate for the first half of the year, but pathetic, or ridiculous, or something like that seems more appropriate for the second half. Or maybe busy or overwhelmed. In other words, if the one little word is kind of like a resolution, this is one I definitely didn’t keep. It wasn’t for lack of trying. Remember when I had to crawl under my house? I called that an adventure. But most of the time, my new life in Atlanta didn’t feel like an adventure; it just felt hard.

So, alright. My word from last year didn’t really work out. But I like the concept, and I’m going to give it another whirl. This year, my word is enough. That’s the word that has been on my mind a lot lately, and I feel like it’s the word I most want to shape this coming year. I want what I do, the money I make, the things I have, the food I eat to be enough. I want it to be enough that I’m in Atlanta instead of in Boston or Texas. I’m just weary of wanting more or different, of thinking that if I just had that pair of shoes or the perfect ______  for my house, I wouldn’t want anything else. Or thinking about what I would be doing somewhere else. I’m happy. I’m healthy. I have more than I need. So here’s to a year of enough.

One thought on “Enough

Leave a Reply

