The Best Day of My Life

Well, not the best day of my life.

Yesterday I had to escape my house for a while to get some reading done, so I went to a nearby Panera Bread to enjoy shortbread and coffee while I read Kant and Adorno. I sat there for a couple of hours reading. And reading. Reading until I felt like my brain was cramping (because that’s what Adorno does to you). So I decided to go home, but first, to decompress a little, I decided to walk around a nearby store. I headed toward TJ Maxx, but stopped instead at the Dollar Tree. Because it’s been a long time since I’ve been in a Dollar Tree, and I just can’t resist the idea of store where everything only costs a dollar. So I walked all over the store, looking at all the things, and I was on the aisle adjacent to the toys when I heard a young boy say this to his mother: “Today is the best day of my life. You know why? Because I today I got to pick a prize out of the treasure chest and now I’m getting something here.” I was smiling and I could hear an older gentlemen behind me chuckling. It was, without a doubt, the highlight of my day. It made me nostalgic for the simple days, when something like getting a $1 toy meant the best day ever. It made me wonder what it would take to make me say “this is the best day of my life.” I’m not sure I know what the answer is. And that’s probably okay, because I’m not really into those kinds of declarations anyway. But you know what I am into? Celebrating the small things. Getting excited about the things that make me happy, even if they’re silly. It made me think of my one little word, enough, because I think it’s contentment that allows us to to feel that way.

And speaking of my word, I did some crafts to help keep my word on my mind. I made this sign and put it on my mantel:

photo-13photo-15

I found the unfinished sign at Micheal’s, stained the frame, painted the face with chalkboard paint, and chalked on the word.

I also made these blocks and set them on my kitchen window:

photo-16

I found these unfinished wood blocks [also] at Micheal’s and got some stickers that I put on the blocks and then stained them. As you can see, it turned out mostly okay, except the h. Oh well. Good enough, right?

Leave a Reply

