Two Songs

For the past few days, I’ve been feeling grateful for two songs that have been blessing me. I listen to them every day. I sing them when I’m supposed to be reading. I cling to them. You know songs like that? That just seem to creep in and root themselves in your heart? The ones that feel like a balm to the soul? That’s these two.

The first one I discovered just after I moved here, right after my mom left and I was on my own in a city where I knew zero people. The band played it on The Today Show, which I just happened to be watching, and I immediately downloaded it. It brought me a lot of comfort then and lately I’ve reached for it again. It’s called “Be Still” by the Fray:

My favorite line: “When no one is standing beside you / Be still and know I am.” I’ve been lonely a lot since I moved here, and that’s been especially true since my parents left. Even though they were only here for a few days, my house feels so empty since they left. And I love this song, this line, because it reminds me that however alone I feel, God is with me. I need to remember that. I need to be reminded of it everyday.

The second song is one that my friend Lacey posted on Facebook on Saturday, so it’s pretty new to me. But it was an instant favorite as I sat here in my living room on Saturday morning listening to it with tears streaming down my face. It’s “He’s Always Been Faithful to Me” by Sara Groves:

I love that this song echoes one of my favorite hymns, “Great is Thy Faithfulness.” The chorus is, “All I have need of His hand will provide / He’s always been faithful to me.” And I don’t know what to say other than these are just the right words at the right time for me. It’s how I feel, and it’s what I need to hear. I need to remember that God is always faithful. And what that means to me right now is not that I get what I want or think I need, but knowing that God is near to the brokenhearted, that I’m okay and I’m going to be okay, however long it takes for me to recalibrate and feel settled and content.

Leave a Reply

