Neighborhood sounds

This afternoon was lovely. After a week of wintery temperatures, I think everyone was relieved to see the thermometer hit 60 degrees. I spend half of the afternoon reading in the library, and when I couldn’t stand it anymore I came home to sit outside and read. Unfortunately, clouds had rolled in by then so I didn’t get to sit out in the sunshine. But it was good enough for me. And not only was it lovely to sit outside and enjoy the weather, I could hear the sounds of some little girls playing, my neighbors chatting as they gardened, a kid playing basketball, lawnmowers and other machine engines whirring. It seemed like the whole neighborhood decided to enjoy this Good Friday afternoon outdoors. I’m grateful to live in this quiet neighborhood that is sometimes filled with the best kinds of sounds.

Leave a Reply

