Doing Saturday Right

Y’all, this has been a darn good day. I started out by taking Spur for a walk in the woods at Lullwater park, which was peaceful and invigorating. Then we came home for the inaugural use of my new grill. Marinated chicken breasts and asparagus, mushrooms and grape tomatoes in a blackberry-ginger balsamic vinegar marinate (if you live in Abilene, go to Cordell’s right now to get this vinegar; you won’t regret it). And, I got a wood-chip box and some mesquite wood chips to give my food that wonderful smoky flavor. And let me tell you that this endeavor was wildly successful. I mean, I’m not a grill master (yet) but everything was delicious. I washed it down with a glass of fresh, homemade strawberry basil lemonade, and finished up with grilled peaches over Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla ice cream. It was a darn good lunch. And guess what? I assembled my grill correctly and nothing came apart and nothing exploded. So, that’s always good. Then some reading, dishes, and I’m wrapping up the day with The Avengers because why not?

But you know what really made today great? No anxiety, not stress, no longing to be somewhere else, no wishing for something different. Ah, summer, my old friend. I think that we’re going to get along just fine.

Leave a Reply

